Sunday, August 01, 2010


WOW! Today two other Iranian Sites have been registered as "World Heritage Site" by UNESCO.
Tabriz Historic Bazaar Complex & Sheikh Safi al-din Khānegāh and Shrine Ensemble in Ardabil both are located in North Western part of Iran. with them Iran has 12 Cultural Site in this list.

The following are the Iranian sites on the World Heritage List:
  1. Chogha Zanbil, Elamite Period (1250 BCE), Khuzestan Province, 1979
  2. Persepolis, Achaemenid Dynasty, Fars Province, 1979
  3. Naqsh-e Jahan Square, Safavid Dynasty, Isfahan Province, 1979
  4. Takht-e Soleiman, Sasanian Dynasty, West Azerbaijan Province, 2003
  5. Pasargadae, Achaemenid Dynasty, Fars Province, 2004
  6. The city of Bam and its Cultural Landscape, Parthian Dynasty, Kerman Province, 2004
  7. Soltanieh Dome, Ilkhanid Period, Zanjan Province, 2005
  8. Bistun Complex, Achaemenid and Sasanian Dynasty, Kermanshah Province, 2006
  9. Historical churches of St. Thaddeus and St. Stephanus, West Azerbaijan Province, and Dzordzor (Zorzor), East Azerbaijan Province, 2008
  10. Shushtar’s ancient water system, Sasanian Dynasty, Khuzestan Province, 2009
  11. Mausoleum of Sheikh Safi ad-Din Aradbili, Ilkhanid and Safavid Dynasty, Aradbil Province, 2010
  12. Tabriz Bazaar, Ilkhanid and Safavid Dynasty, East Azarbaijan Province, 2010

No comments:

Post a Comment